Copyright In Research

Copyright In Research 版權與硏究

 

Handling Copyright of Your Research Work

The copyright of your research work created during the employment at this University or with the use of the University equipment, facilities or other resources belongs to CUHK. As an author, you hold a non-exclusive license to use the same material for non-commercial educational purposes during and beyond your employment with the University, excluding any third party copyrighted material. Details are in Ownership of Copyright of your Research Work.

  • Copyright Notice

Although copyright is automatic, you are advised to provide a copyright notice in the following format so that others intended to use your work can easily identify you as the copyright owner.

© [your name as the copyright owner] [year of publication]. All rights reserved. (example: ©xxx 2010. All rights reserved.)

  • Creative Commons (CC) Licenses

Alternatively, if you would like to share your research work with others for use in fewer restrictions than the current Copyright Ordinance (Cap. 528) and the Copyright (Amendment) Ordinance 2007 & 2009, you are encouraged to license your work using a Creative Commons license. According to the website of Creative Commons, the current copyright law that was created long before the emergence of the Internet has laid down restrictive rules that stifle the use of your work on the network that we take for granted such as copy, paste, edit source and post to the web. Creative Commons is “a free, public, and standardized infrastructure that creates a balance between the reality of the Internet and the reality of copyright laws.” Under this scheme, an author can choose amongst 6 different CC licenses to indicate under what conditions people can use their works. For instance, you can include attribution, non-commercial / commercial use and share alike, which means that using your work requires acknowledging you as the author, restricting to either non-commercial or commercial purposes and allowing remix of your content.

The following are two most popular CC licenses:

  • Attribution-NonCommercial (CC BY-NC)

attribution-noncommercial CC license

This license lets others remix, tweak, and build upon your work non-commercially, and although their new works must also acknowledge you and be non-commercial, they don’t have to license their derivative works on the same terms.

  • Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike (CC BY-NC-SA)

attribution-noncommercial-sharealike CC license

This license lets others remix, tweak, and build upon your work non-commercially, as long as they credit you and license their new creations under the identical terms.

CC licenses are not alternative to copyright; they work alongside with copyright and its use complies with the Copyright Ordinance (Cap. 528) of Hong Kong. Hong Kong is one of the international jurisdictions that support and promote CC activities around the world. They can also be applied to print publications.

 

Using Third Party Copyrighted Material

In some circumstances, you will need to use third party copyrighted material in your own research. Under the provisions of the current Copyright Ordinance of Hong Kong, fair dealing for research and private study, staff and students in educational establishments are permitted to use an insubstantial portion of copyrighted materials as long as the use complies with all the conditions that determine whether the dealing with a work is fair. Please refer to copyright exemption - fair dealing for details.

If the fair dealing exemption for research & private study is not applicable such as when you want to publish your research work, and you still wish to use third party copyrighted material, you need to:

  • Seek permission from the copyright holder - Even when using your own content, for example an article written by you, if published copyright will probably have been assigned to the publisher who may or may not allow the work to be used in another work, or
  • Use material already available under a Creative Commons licenses, or
  • Use material whose copyright has expired – In general, copyright expires at the end of the period of 50 years from the end of the calendar year in which the author dies. After expiry of copyright, the work can be treated as material in a public domain. Different types of work are subject to different copyright duration. Please refer to this page for details: http://www.ip.gov.hk/en/duration-of-copyright.html.

 

Fair Dealing for Other Purposes

In Hong Kong, fair dealing is not just confined to the purpose of research and private study. There are other permitted acts that will not constitute copyright infringement when using copyright works. They are: criticism, review, news reporting (Section 39), giving or receiving instruction (Section 41A), and public administration (Section 54A). Any use of copyrighted material beyond the above prescribed purposes such as for commercial use will not be considered as fair. Please also note that the conditions that determine whether the dealing with a work is fair dealing still apply. Please refer to copyright exemption - fair dealing for details.

 

Publishing Your Research Work

  • Author's Rights

Under the current provisions of the Copyright Ordinance of Hong Kong, in normal circumstances, the author of a work is the first owner of any copyright in it. Though the University retains the copyright for a work that is created by its staff during the course of his / her employment in the University, staff member as the author of the work obtains non-exclusive rights to use the work. In addition to the basic rights protected by the Copyright Ordinance, you also have the following author’s rights:

  1. To use the work for instructional purposes
  2. To post the work on your web site
  3. To post the work in an open access repository
  4. To reproduce the work
  5. To authorize others to exercise any of these rights

Authors retain their exclusive rights on their work until they sign an agreement that transfers some or all of these exclusive rights. Once transferred, it is hard to exercise the rights again. This is usually the case when you intend to publish your research work with a publisher and are requested to sign a publishing agreement that governs how copyright of the work is licensed or assigned. If you do not read the terms of the agreement carefully, you may transfer all your own copyright to a publisher without noticing it. This will limit your ability to use or share your work with others and you need to seek permission from the publisher for a specific use of your own work. Each publisher has its own publishing agreement with unique terms. You can refer to its author guidelines for details. However, it is not easy to distill in details what these entail and how they impact on your own copyright. In general, a standard publishing agreement will assign the full copyright to the publisher; some may require specific rights only such as the license to publish; some may allow the authors to retain certain copyright such as re-using the paper in future printed work, or depositing the paper in institutional repositories. You are always encouraged to retain the copyright in your own work and do not transfer such rights that is more than is needed to a publisher. The following are some strategies you can use if you do not want to transfer your copyright to a publisher or not satisfied with the terms in the publishing agreement:

  1. Use author addendum to negotiate with the publisher to retain author’s rights to your work - While most publishers may request you to sign a standard publishing agreement, you can use an author addendum to negotiate with the publisher whether you will be allowed to retain some rights to your work such as using it in teaching and research. One such addendum you can use is The SPARC Author Addendum that is developed by the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC) and it serves to modify the publisher’s agreement and assign to the publisher only those rights needed for publication. Another one is Scholar’s Copyright Addendum Engine. Some universities prepare their own author addenda for use by their community.
  2. Use open access publishing agreement such as Creative Common licenses.
  3. Choose to publish in open access journals that allow authors to retain their copyright - Open access journals are journals that are freely available on the Internet, and many, but not all, have liberal policies that allow author to retain their copyright. Please refer to Directory of Open Access Journals to identify a suitable journal for your work.
  4. Check whether the terms in publishing agreement contravenes with the requirement of the funding bodies - Many international funding bodies have open access policies that require their funded research work to be freely available to the public in order to maximize the dissemination of the research they fund. Please refer to SHERPA/Juliet to find out the open access policies of major funders. Please make sure you retain the right to self-archive your publication in open access repository should this is required by the funder.

 

  • Third Party Copyrighted Material

Fair dealing shall not apply when you submit your work for publication. You must seek permission from the copyright holder for any third party copyrighted material contains in your work.

 

  • Self-Archiving Your Publications in Open Access Institutional Repositories (CUHK Research Portal)

In the worldwide open access movement, you may choose to self-archive your publication in institutional repository that is open access to allow sharing your work with the global research community. The new University's Research Portal (AIMS) is such an open access institutional repository to allow you to deposit your research outputs.

There is a growing trend for publishers to allow depositing their publications in the author’s institutional repositories such as CUHK Research Portal. To check for the publishers’ copyright and self-archiving policies, please use this web site SHERPA/RoMEO that is developed by JISC and hosted by the University of Nottingham to provide updated information on the conditions/restrictions imposed by a publisher to allow the author to archive their publications in institutional repository. In general, an author is allowed to self-archive his / her publications in the following three versions: 1) pre-print that has not been peer-reviewed; 2) post-print that has been peer-reviewed; 3) publisher’s published version.

The Library is aware that faculty and researchers of the University have concerns on copyright and which version of their publications should be archived. The Library will investigate thoroughly the copyright and self-archiving policies of publishers. You are also welcome to contact cco@lib.cuhk.edu.hk should you have any enquiries.

版權與研究

Copyright In Research 版權與硏究

 

處理你的科研作品的版權

你在大學受僱工作期間或使用大學的設備、設施或其他資源創建的科研作品的版權均屬中文大學。除了第三方版權資料外,你作為此作品的著作人,你在大學受僱工作期間和之後均持有非獨有許可使用相同的材料作非商業教育用途。詳細說明可參考你的科研作品的版權擁有權

  • 版權聲明

雖然版權是自動的,但也請你參考以下格式提供一個版權聲明,讓其他打算使用你的科研作品的人更易識別你便是版權擁有人。

©[你作為版權人的名字] [出版年份] 版權所有。 (例子: ©xxx 2010版權所有。)

  • 「共享創意條款」

另外,如果你想與其他人分享你的科研作品,讓他們可以比目前版權條例(第528章)2007年及2009年版權(修訂)條例限制更少的情況下使用你的科研作品,你可考慮使用「共享創意條款」授權你的作品。 「共享創意條款」網站指出, 目前的版權法遠早在互聯網出現前已訂立,其中有不少條文扼殺了我們習以為常的網上行為,如複製、粘貼、編輯作品並發布到網上。 「共享創意」旨在提供 “一個自由、公開、規範的平台,創造互聯網和版權法現實之間的平衡自由 。” 在此計劃下,作者可以選擇 6種不同的「共享創意條款」 ,以規定在什麼條件下人們可以使用他們的作品。例如可以包括署名、非商業/商務使用和共享,意味著在使用你的作品時需要表彰你的姓名,限制於非商業或商業用途,及讓使用者對你的著作進行重混。

以下是兩種最常用的 「共享創意條款」:

  • 署名-非商業性使用 (CC BY-NC)

attribution-noncommercial CC license

本授權條款允許使用者對你的著作進行重混、調整,以及依原著作建立新著作,但僅限於非商業目的之使用。而雖然使用者就其新創著作,仍必須按照你指定的方式表彰你的姓名,且運用上不得涉及商業牟利,然而使用者毋須使用相同的授權條款來授權他們的衍生著作。

  • 署名-非商業性使用-相同方式共享 (CC BY-NC-SA)

attribution-noncommercial-sharealike CC license

本授權條款允許使用者對你的著作進行重混、調整,以及依原著作建立新著作,但僅限於非商業目的之使用。唯使用者就其新創著作,必須按照你指定的方式表彰你的姓名,並且將產出之新創著作採用相同的授權條款釋出。

「共享創意條款」不是替代版權;而是與版權配合一起共同運作,其使用符合香港版權條例(第528章)的規定。 香港也是支持和促進世界各地的「共享創意條款」活動的國際司法管轄區之一。它們也可以應用於印刷出版物。

 

使用第三方版權資料

有些情況你需要在自己的研究使用第三方版權資料。根據香港現行版權條例的規定,非牟利教育機構的教職員和學生如為研究或私人研習而使用版權作品,不屬侵犯該等作品的版權,他們獲允許使用版權資料的非實質部分,只要他們符合所有確定對作品的處理是否公平處理的條件。詳情請參閱版權豁免 - 公平處理

如果公平處理豁免不適用的話,例如,你想出版你的研究工作,但你仍然希望使用第三方版權資料,你必須:

  • 向版權人尋求特許 - 即使使用自己的內容的時候,例如一篇你自己寫的文章,也有可能已把出版版權授予出版商,而出版商可能會或可能不會允許在其他作品中使用, 或
  • 使用已獲 「共享創意條款」授權,或
  • 使用版權已經過期的資料 – 一般情況下,版權自創作人於某年離世的年終起計的50年完結時屆滿。版權期滿後,該作品可被視為在公共領域的資料。不同類型的作品都受到不同程度的版權保護期。詳情請參閱 http://www.ip.gov.hk/tc/duration-of-copyright.html

 

「公平處理」原則下的其他版權豁免

根據香港的版權法, 「公平處理」豁免不僅局限於研究、私人研習的目的。 有其他使用版權作品的行為會被法例允許,而不會構成侵犯版權。這些行為涉及 批評、評論、新聞報導(第39條), 為教學或接受教學的目的(第41A條), 或 公共行政(第54A條)。任何為其他目的而作出的行為,包括為商業用途使用而進行的行為,都不算是公平處理。另請注意,那些決定對作品的處理是否公平處理的條件仍然適用。詳情請參閱 版權豁免 - 公平處理

 

出版你的科研作品

  • 作者的權利

根據現行的香港版權條例,在一般情況下,作品的作者是該作品的任何版權的第一擁有人。雖然大學擁有它的僱員在大學受僱期間創作的作品的版權,該名僱員作為作品的作者獲得使用該作品的非獨家權利。除了由版權條例所保護的 基本權利 外,你也擁有下列作者的權利:

  1. 將該作品用於教學用途
  2. 在自己的網站發表該作品
  3. 在開放存取的典藏發表該作品
  4. 複製該作品
  5. 授權他人行使這些權利

作者將保留上述的獨家版權,直至他們另行簽署協議轉讓部分或所有這些獨家權利。一旦轉移,作者很難再次行使這些權利。若你打算委託出版商出版你的作品,並被要求簽署轉讓版權的出版協議時,這種情況便會發生。 如果不仔細閱讀協議條款,你可能在不知不覺間轉讓自己所有的版權給出版商,日後你想使用或與他人分享你的作品時便受限制,而且必須尋求出版商許可在某一特定用途使用自己的作品。 每位出版商均有自己獨特要求的出版協議,細節可以參考它的作者準則。然而,不是很容易揣摩當中細節的含意,及它們對你的的版權的影響。一般情況下,一個標準的出版協議將轉讓全部版權給出版商;有些則可能需要特定的權限,如只授權刊登該作品;有些可能允許作者保留部份版權,如日後在另一出版物再使用該作品,或於機構典藏存放該作品。請盡量保留自己作品的版權,不要轉讓比實際需要更多的版權予出版商。如果你不希望你的版權轉讓給出版商或不滿意的出版協議的條款,你可以嘗試以下的策略:

  1. 使用作者附錄與出版商洽商保留你的作品的作者權利 - 儘管大多數出版商可能要求你簽署一份標準的出版協議,你可以利用一份作者附錄與之談判是否允許保留一些權利,如在教學和科研使用自己的作品。其中一種可供使用的作者附錄是 The SPARC Author Addendum ,它是由 Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC) 開發的,用來修改出版商的協議,並分配給出版商僅用於出版的權利。另外一個是 Scholar’s Copyright Addendum Engine。 一些大學編撰自己的作者附錄供社區使用。
  2. 使用開放存取出版協議,如「共享創意條款」。
  3. 選擇在允許作者保留其版權的「開放存取期刊」出版 - 「開放存取期刊」是指免費在互聯網上提供的期刊,其中有很多的政策寬鬆,允許作者保留他們的版權,但不是所有都有如此寬鬆的政策。請參閱 Directory of Open Access Journals 確定那一份期刊適合出版你的作品。
  4. 檢查出版協議的條款是否違反與資助機構的要求 - 許多國際資助機構要求他們資助的研究工作免費提供給公眾,以擴大傳播它們資助的研究成果。請參考 SHERPA/Juliet 搜尋主要資助機構的開放存取政策。如資助機構要求於開放存取式的機構典藏存放你的出版物,請確保你保留了自我典藏的權利。

 

  • 第三方版權資料

當你提交您的作品出版時,公平處理的豁免便不適用。你必須為作品中含任何第三方版權的資料尋求版權人的許可。

 

  • 自我典藏 (香港中文大學學術硏文庫)

在全球的開放存取運動下,你可以選擇於開放存取式的機構典藏存放你的出版物,方便與全球研究界交流你的作品。 「香港中文大學學術硏文庫」 正是一個開放存取式的機構典藏讓你存放你的科研作品。

越來越多出版商允許作者們於所屬的機構典藏存放他們的出版物,如「香港中文大學學術硏文庫」。此網站 SHERPA/RoMEO 可用於搜尋出版商的版權和自我典藏策略,由 JISC 開發, University of Nottingham 託管,以提供出版商允許自我典藏的條件/限制的最新信息。一般來說,作者可以使用以下三個出版物的版本自我典藏: 1) 尚未同行評審的預印本; 2) 已經被同行評審的印後本; 3) 出版商的發行版本

圖書館理解大學的教研人員關注版權問題和如何選取他們出版物的不同版本作典藏。圖書館將深入調查出版商的版權和自我典藏策略。如有任何疑問,歡迎聯繫 cco@lib.cuhk.edu.hk