Copyright Basics

Copyright Basics 版權基本知識

On this page, you will learn

 

Copyright Context in Hong Kong

  • What is Copyright?

    In Hong Kong copyright is a private property rights that gives exclusive rights to the author/creator of an original work to do the following acts:

    1. to copy the work;
    2. to issue copies of the work to the public;
    3. to rent copies of the work to the public;
    4. to make available copies of the work to the public;
    5. to perform, show or play the work in public;
    6. to broadcast the work or include it in a cable programme service;
    7. to make an adaptation of the work.

    It is governed by the Copyright Ordinance (Cap. 528) and the Copyright (Amendment) Ordinance 2007 & 2009.

  • What is Intellectual Property?

    Intellectual property is an umbrella term that covers a group of separate intangible property rights including copyright plus others such as  trademarks, patents, designs, plant varieties and the layout design of integrated circuits.  Details can be referred to http://www.ipd.gov.hk/eng/intellectual_property/ip_hk.htm.

  • What is the difference between copyright and patent and trademark?

    Copyright protects the expression of ideas of the author/creator, not the underlying ideas. A patent protects invention of the patent owner. A trademark protects words (including personal names), indications, designs, letters, characters, numerals, figurative elements, colors, sounds, smells, the shape of the goods or their packaging or any combination of these that distinguish goods and services of one trader from those of others.

    Copyright does not require registration, it is automatic. Patents and trademarks require formal registration to obtain the rights.

  • What does copyright protect?

    Hong Kong’s Copyright Ordinance protects creativity and the expression of ideas in a work, but not the underlying ideas. There are 9 categories of works, including works transmitted over Internet, radio, television, that are copyright-protected:

    1. Literary works such as books and computer software
    2. Dramatic works such as plays
    3. Musical works such as musical compositions
    4. Artistic works such as drawings, paintings, and sculptures
    5. Sound recordings
    6. Films
    7. Broadcasts
    8. Cable programmes
    9. Typographical arrangement of published editions of literary, dramatic or musical works, as well as performers' performances.

    Copyright applies to all works even if they originate outside Hong Kong. Copyright is automatic, no formal registration is required to claim copyright, and it can be licensed/assigned to another party.  Details can be referred to http://www.ipd.gov.hk/eng/pub_press/publications/cpr_ed_e.pdf.

  • What isn’t protected by copyright?

    Copyright protects the authorship of an original work including the skills and labour of an author. Therefore, the following is not protected:

    1. Works which are trivial or involve little skill and labour of an author such as titles, names, and short phrases
    2. Mere ideas in a work
    3. Works in public domain.
  • Who owns copyright?

    The author of a work owns the copyright. If it is a joint work, then all the joint authors own the copyright.

    If a work is created in the course of his employment, his employer is the first copyright owner subject to any agreement to the contrary. Please refer details to the copyright context and policies at CUHK.

    For commissioned works, the ownership of copyright depends on the agreement between the parties.  

    Details refer to http://www.ipd.gov.hk/eng/pub_press/publications/hk.htm#cp4.

  • How long does copyright last?

    Copyright is time limited, and in Hong Kong how long copyright lasts depends on the format of the work, but in most cases it will last for 50 years after the death of the author/creator.

 

Copyright Exemption - Fair Dealing

In Hong Kong, there are some exceptions in the Copyright Ordinance, such as fair dealing, that allow some copying for educational establishments.  There are no prescribed percentages on what can be copied; however this is not a blanket license to copy. Educational establishments are permitted to copy by a teacher or a student to a reasonable extent artistic works or passages from published literary, dramatic, or musical works, or recording of broadcast or cable programmes, in a fair manner for the purposes of giving or receiving instruction. In deciding what constitutes a fair manner, the court shall take into account all the circumstances, in particular:

  • the purpose and nature of the dealing, including whether such dealing is for non-profit making purpose and whether it is of a commercial nature; 
  • the nature of the work;
  • the amount and substantiality of the portion dealt with in relation to the work as a whole; and
  • the effect of the copying on the potential market for or value of the work.

To enjoy “fair dealing” exemption, you must properly acknowledge the title and authorship of the work and deal with the work in a fair manner. Examples of what would be considered fair or unfair for dealing with a copyrighted work can be found at http://www.ipd.gov.hk/eng/intellectual_property/copyright/edu_guide.pdf.

Subject to the above conditions, copying for research and private study is permitted. Copying a work for the purpose of setting or answering examination questions is also permissible, except for musical works for use in performance by a candidate. However the minimum amount of copied material required to set the question should be used.

It should be noted that a qualitative rather than a quantitative approach will be adopted in assessing whether there has been substantial taking; so the copying of a substantial part of the original work, albeit not of a significant proportion of the work, may still fall outside the fair dealing exception and thereby constitute an infringement of copyright.

 

Hong Kong's Copyright-Related Ordinances

Hong Kong’s copyright laws has a lot of implications on educational institutions. The following covers all the related ordinance, regulations and guidelines relating to the practice of copyright in educational sector.

 

Copyright Context and Policies at CUHK

In the CUHK Policy on Research, Intellectual Property and Knowledge Transfer (para. 8) copyright over educational audio-visual materials produced by staff members in the course of the University’s employment or with the use of University equipment, facilities or other resources belongs to CUHK. Educational audio-visual materials are interpreted in their broadest sense and can include a wide range of digital materials from text, images, video or sound items to multiple choice question banks.

Responsibility for any infringement of copyright rests with the person making the copy. Although the University has a responsibility to ensure that staff and students are aware of copyright and comply with the law, it remains the responsibility of the person making the copy to ensure they do not infringe copyright. Details of all the University’s Copyright and Intellectual Property Rights guidance can be found at http://www.cuhk.edu.hk/policy/copyright/en/.

Creators will defend, indemnify, and hold harmless the University and/or its licensees against all claims, suits, costs, damages, and expenses that the University and/or its licensees may sustain by reason of any scandalous, libelous, or unlawful matter contained or alleged to be contained in the Work or any infringement or violation by the Work of any copyright or property right.

The following is the list of copyright policies and guidelines applicable across the campus:

 

Library Guidelines

The library has derived a number of guidelines to specify in what ways the Library complies with the prevailing copyright laws of Hong Kong in the course of handling print and electronic resources, excessive downloading, photocopying, and digitization.

版權基本知識

Copyright Basics 版權基本知識

在這個頁面,你會學到

 

香港版權環境

  • 什麼是版權?

    香港的版權是賦予原作者/創建者一個獨有的財產權利, 允許他們做以下的行為:

    1. 複製該作品;
    2. 向公眾發放該作品的複製品 (出版);
    3. 租賃該作品的複製品予公眾;
    4. 在互聯網上向公眾提供該作品的複製品;
    5. 公開表演、放映或播放該作品;
    6. 將該作品廣播或將該作品包括在有線傳播節目服務內;
    7. 製作該作品的改編本 (例如翻譯該作品或更改其電腦程式)。

    它受 版權條例 (第528章) 及 the 2007年及2009年版權(修訂)條例管轄。

  • 什麼是知識產權?

    知識產權泛指一組無形的獨立財產權利,包括版權及其他產權如商標權、專利權、外觀設計權、植物品種保護權及集成電路的布圖設計權。詳細說明可參考 http://www.ipd.gov.hk/eng/intellectual_property/ip_hk.htm

  • 版權與專利和商標之間有什麼區別呢?

    版權保護意念的表現形式或有關的製成品,而意念本身卻未受保護。專利保護專利擁有人的發明。商標保護文字(包括個人姓名)、徵示、設計式樣、字母、字樣、數字、圖形要素、顏色 、聲音、氣味、貨品的形狀或其包裝,以及上述標誌的任何組合所構成,以識別不同商戶的貨品和服務。

    作品要在香港取得版權保護,毋須辦理任何手續。它可說是自動的權利。專利商標均須註冊方可取得專有權。

  • 版權保護什麼呢?

    香港的版權保護創意及其意念的表現形式或有關的製成品,而意念本身卻未受保護。 共有九類作品包括互聯網、電台、電視傳送的作品存在版權:

    1. 文學作品如書籍及電腦軟件
    2. 音樂作品如創作樂曲
    3. 戲劇作品如舞台劇
    4. 藝術作品如繪畫、髹掃畫及雕塑品
    5. 聲音紀錄
    6. 影片
    7. 廣播
    8. 有線傳播節目
    9. 文學、戲劇及音樂作品已發表版本的排印編排,以及表演者的演出。

    版權適用於所有作品,即使他們來自香港以外地方。著作權是自動的,毋須辦理任何手續便可取得,而且版權擁有者可授權/分配他人使用其作品的獨有權利。詳細說明可參考 http://www.ipd.gov.hk/eng/pub_press/publications/cpr_ed_e.pdf

  • 什麼是不受版權保護的呢?

    版權保護原作者有關作品的權利,包括其技術和努力。因此,以下的作品不會受到保護 :

    1. 毫無意義的作品或者涉及小技巧和勞動的如標題、名稱和短語
    2. 作品的意念
    3. 在公共領域的作品
  • 誰擁有版權?

    作品的作者,便是該著作的版權擁有人。如果是合作作品,則全部作者擁有版權。

    如作品是由僱員在受僱工作期間製作的,除非勞資雙方另有協議,否則僱主是版權的第一擁有人。 詳細說明可參考 香港中文大學版權環境與政策

    至於委託作品,版權的擁有權則取決於作者與委托人之間的協議。

    詳細說明可參考 http://www.ipd.gov.hk/chi/pub_press/publications/hk.htm#cp4

  • 版權的期限有多久?

    版權是有時間限制的。在香港,版權持續多久取決於版權作品的格式,但在大多數情況下,版權的期限延續至有關創作人離世後 50 年為止。

 

版權豁免 - 公平處理

香港的版權法容許若干例外情況, 讓教育機構以「公平處理」的方式合理地使 用版權作品。法例沒有規定可以複製的百分比;然而,這不是一個一攬子許可複製。教育機構獲允許由教師或學 生,為教學或接受教學的目的,而在合理的範圍內複製文學作品、戲劇作品、音樂作品或錄製廣播或有線傳播節目。法院在裁定對作品的處理是否公平時,須考慮有關個案的整體情況,並尤其須考慮:

  • 該項處理的目的及性質,包括該項處理是否為非牟利的目的而作出以及是否屬商業性質;
  • 該作品的性質;
  • 就該作品的整項而言,被處理的部分所佔的數量及實質分量;及
  • 該項處理對該作品的潛在市場或價值的影響。

如要享用「公平處理」豁免,你必須正確地確認作品的名稱及作者,並且以公平的方式處理。在這裡 http://www.ipd.gov.hk/eng/intellectual_property/copyright/edu_guide.pdf 可找到被認為是公平或不公平處理版權作品的例子。

在符合上述條件的情況下,為研究或私人研習而複製是允許的。為考試的目的並藉擬出試題或解答試題而作出的複製也是允許的,但此並不適用於製作音樂作品的翻印複製品供考生表演該作品之用。即使作出試題之用也應使用最小量的材料。

但應當注意的是,在評估是否過度複製時所採取的是質而非量的方式; 所以,雖然不是複製原作品的一個顯著的比例,但實質部分的複製仍可屬於「公平處理」之外,從而構成侵犯版權。

 

有關香港的版權條例

香港的版權法對教育機構有著多方面影響。以下內容涵蓋版權法應用於教學用途的相關條例、規則、和指引 。

 

香港中文大學版權環境與政策

香港中文大學的 研究、知識產權、及知識轉移的政策 (第8節)訂明,所有由僱員在受僱工作期間或使用大學的設備、設施或其他資源製作教育視聽教材的版權均屬中文大學。教育視聽材料泛指包括從文字、圖片、視頻、音頻至選擇題資料庫的數碼化資料。

任何侵犯版權的責任在於製作副本的人。雖然大學有責任確保僱員和學生都知道版權法和遵守法律,但仍然是製作副本的人有責任確保他們不侵犯版權。大學的版權與知識產權政策詳情請參考 http://www.cuhk.edu.hk/policy/copyright/b5/.

創作者將捍衛、賠償和無損大學和/或其授權人利益下,反對因作品含有或聲稱含有任何醜聞、中傷,或非法物質,或任何侵犯或違反版權,而導致的所有索賠,訴訟,費用,損失及費用。

以下是適用於大學校園的版權規則和指引的列表:

 

圖書館指引

為遵從最新的香港版權法,圖書館在處理印刷作品和電子資源、 過量下載、影印和數碼化的過程中, 已經制定了很多指引。