Different events in promoting new research skills, tools and development have been organised to CUHK community in arousing their interest and awareness.

Data Hack 2023 CUHK Data Hack 2023 (17-19 Feb 2023)

The second Data Hack jointly organised by Digital Scholarship and Learning Garden Teams with Center for EntrepreneurshipEntrepreneurship and Innovation (EPIN) Minor ProgrammeDepartment of Cultural and Religious StudiesData Science and Policy Studies ProgrammeSchool of Journalism and CommunicationDepartment of Management and Department of Social Work will be held between 17-19 Feb 2023 (Fri-Sun) at CUHK Innoport.  Welcome CUHK students and staff to join as individuals or in teams to showcase your digital skills within 48 hours!   More information can be found in the event webpageA few pre-hackathon workshops will be organized covering skills on data scraping, processing, visualisation and deployment after Lunar New Year holiday.

Data Analytics Practice Opportunity 2022/23 Data Analytics Practice Opportunity 2022/23 (Sep 2022 – Feb 2023)

The Library continues to encourage CUHK students in utilizing Library resources to practice their data analytics skills.  Selected teams or individuals will be guided to finish their proposed project using data and resources from CUHK Digital Repository, CUHK Library Archival Collections and CUHK Research Data Repository.   A project website, research poster and final presentation will be produced with their codes and programmes in telling the story.  Details can be found in the event website.

Chinese Classic Text OCR Challenge 2022 Chinese Classic Text OCR Challenge 2022 (Feb-Jun 2022)

This is the second year of OCR Challenge on Chinese classic texts and this year it is co-organised with Academia Sinica Center for Digital Cultures (ASCDC).  This year individuals and groups could join as “Open Team” or “Student Team”.  The Challenge materials were in higher varieties but the results still encouraging.  Apart from the Prize Ceremony, all the 6 winning teams had presentation to showcase their technology.  More details can be found from the Challenge webpage.

Data Analytics Practice Opportunity (2021/22) Data Analytics Practice Opportunity (2021/22) (Jan-Jul 2022)

CUHK students were encouraged to develop codes to analyse data and tell stories with CUHK Library resources including CUHK Digital Repository, CUHK Library Archival Collections and CUHK Research Data Repository.  Selected teams were guided to finish their proposed projects, in which they have to conduct a final presentation, develop a project website, produce a research poster to showcase their works, and their developed codes and programmes are installed in our Digital Scholarship Tools platform for open access.  Details can be found in the event webpage.

DASH-seminar Introduction to Digital Analysis System for Humanities (DASH) by Academia Sinica (30 Nov 2021)

Digital Analysis System for Humanities (DASH) (https://dh.ascdc.sinica.edu.tw/member/) is an one-stop platform developed by Academia Sinica Center for Digital Cultures (ASCDC) with various digital humanities research tools for researchers to retrieve important message from their research materials from its cloud environment.

CUHK Data Hack 2021 CUHK Data Hack 2021 (21-23 May 2021)

The first CUHK Data Hack 2021 was held on 21-23 May 2021, organised by Digital Scholarship and Learning Garden Teams with Center for EntrepreneurshipEntrepreneurship and Innovation (EPIN) Minor ProgrammeDepartment of Cultural and Religious StudiesData Science and Policy Studies ProgrammeSchool of Journalism and CommunicationDepartment of Management and Department of Social Work.  Workshop series “From Data Sourcing to Publishing” was organised throughout the 2020/21 academic year covering various different tools and skills on data scraping, processing, visualisation and deployment.  More information can be found in the Data Hack page.

2021 Chinese Classic Text OCR Challenge 2021 Chinese Classic Text OCR Challenge (Feb-Apr 2021)

Chinese OCR is an important element for digital scholarship and it is the first step for research on Chinese Classics text analysis.  RSDI has organised the first “2021 Chinese Classic Text OCR Challenge” in early 2021 to compare the excellence of the automatic recognition of Chinese characters in classics. 10 teams from worldwide scholars, researchers and practitioners had completed the Challenge in OCR Chinese Classics.  Read the Challenge page for more details.

Public Talks on "Digital Humanities and Chinese Studies" 2020 Public Talks on “Digital Humanities and Chinese Studies” 2020 (7 & 10 Jan 2020)

The Library has collaborated with Institute of Chinese Studies (ICS) in January 2020 for Public Talks on “Digital Humanities and Chinese Studies” series (「數位人文與中國文化研究」公開講座系列 2020) . Two GIS experts from Academia Sinica has shared their experience in conducting GeoHumanities and historical research.
From Spatio-temporal GIS to Geo-humanities 從時空GIS到空間人文學
Speaker: Prof. FAN I-chun 范毅軍教授

The Cyber Infrastructure for GeoHumanities and the Study of Environmental History Based on HGIS 基於歷史地理信息系統發展空間人文學及環境史研究網路基礎設施 
Speaker: Mr. LIAO Hsiung-ming 廖泫銘先生

Public Talks on "Digital Humanities and Chinese Studies" 2020 poster Public Talks on "Digital Humanities and Chinese Studies" 2020 - Prof. Lai Chi-tim Public Talks on "Digital Humanities and Chinese Studies" 2020 - Prof. Fan I-chun
Public Talks on "Digital Humanities and Chinese Studies" 2020 Public Talks on "Digital Humanities and Chinese Studies" 2020 - Mr. Liao Hsiung-ming Public Talks on "Digital Humanities and Chinese Studies" 2020 - Mr. Liao Hsiung-ming
DS Symposium (19 Mar 2019) Digital Scholarship Symposium 2019 – (Re-)Mining Text: From Traditional to Digital (19 Mar 2019)

The second Digital Scholarship Symposium, titled “(Re-)Mining Text: From Traditional to Digital” was held on 19 March 2019 was co-organized with Hong Kong Literature Research Centre. The one-day Symposium aimed to explore the techniques and applications of text mining in the new era. Researchers mine text in a microscopic way using traditional research methods. But with techniques developed in digital scholarship, they can re-mine the text from a macroscopic perspective.  Visit the Symposium page for more information.

Author ID Events (12 Nov 2018) Standing Out from the Crowd: Author Identity (12 Nov 2018)

The CUHK Library organised a series of talks on Author Identity. Representatives from the Chinese Academy of Sciences, ORCID, Clarivate Analytics, and Elsevier shared their views on how to manage author identity and track research impact in different platforms, namely iAuthor, ORCID, Web of Science, and Scopus. Five postgraduate volunteers provided onsite support and assistance for author identity registrations in the week.

Author ID events Author ID talks Author ID talks
Author ID talks Author ID talks Author ID booth
DS Symposium (31 March 2017) Digital Scholarship Symposium – Exploring Digital Scholarship Research at CUHK and Beyond (31 March 2017)

The first DS Symposium was held on 31 March 2017 to celebrate the 1st anniversary of Digital Scholarship Lab at University Library.  Scholars invited have shared their research projects about data visualizationdevelopment of digital museumGIS and development of historical database for online access. Over 60 participants joined the half day symposium while in the afternoon there was a workshop on China Biographical Database (CBDB).  Visit the Symposium page for more information.

Open Access Day (24 Oct 2016) Open Access Day (24 Oct 2016)

The Open Access Day aims to share with the University community the benefits of opening up research. Themed as “Open in Action – Enhancing Research Impact @CUHK AIMS”, the event tied in with the International Open Access Week to highlight the needs of opening up the University’s research outputs through the new Academic Information Management System (AIMS) and the institutional repository CUHK Research Portal.

Opening of Open Access Day (24 Oct 2016) Opening of Open Access Day (24 Oct 2016) Roundtable of Open Access Day (24 Oct 2016)
Roundtable of Open Access Day (24 Oct 2016) Open Forum of Open Access Day (24 Oct 2016) AIMS demo of Open Access Day (24 Oct 2016)

 

Events for Postgraduate students in enhancing their research showcasing skills are also available, including

  • Research Café provides an opportunity for CUHK research postgraduate students to enhance their presentation skills by presenting their research to participants and facilitating interdisciplinary research ideas exchange.
    Research Cafe
  • Research Poster Exhibition co-organized with Graduate School and The Independent Learning Centre (ILC) is usually an annual event for all current CUHK postgraduate students to showcase their research work in the form of posters to the broader university community, and to enhance their poster presentation skills.
    Research Poster Exhibition (2019) Research Poster Exhibition (2021) Research Poster Exhibition (2021)

我們透過舉辦不同的活動,讓中大師生能多留意及對新的研究技巧、工具及發展產生興趣。

CUHK Data Hack 2024 CUHK Data Hack 2024 (2024年3月8-10日)

圖書館數碼學術研究及進學園團隊與數據科學與政策研究課程學能提升研究中心 (CLEAR)文化及宗教研究系創業創新副修課程 (EPIN)將於2024年3月8-10日(星期五-日)在大學圖書館合辦第三屆Data Hack。活動將於2024年1月8日(星期一) 開放予中大員生報名於48小時內展示他們的數碼技能。另外亦安排了一連串Pre-hackathon 講座,以提升參賽者的數碼技能及瞭解數據週期。詳情可在活動網頁查看。

2023-24 Data Analytics Practice Opportunity 數據分析實踐機會 2023/24 (2023年10月 – 2024年3月)

鼓勵中大學生利用香港中文大學數碼典藏中大圖書館檔案館藏香港中文大學研究數據儲存庫的資料提交項目建議書去練習他們的數據分析技能。選出的隊伍於指導下完成他們的項目及網站、研究海報、最後簡報及相關代碼程式,以展示他們的成果。詳細資料請參看活動網頁

Chinese Classic text mining & processing (Mar-Apr 2023) 「中文古籍的文字勘探與處理」工作坊 (2023年3-4月)

我們舉辦了三個有關中文古籍文字辨識及處理平台的工作坊,幫助中大師生勘探及處理與他們研究相關的中文古籍文字:

Data Hack 2023 CUHK Data Hack 2023 (2023年2月17-19日)

由圖書館數碼學術研究及進學園團隊與創業研究中心創業創新副修課程 (EPIN)文化及宗教研究系數據科學與政策研究課程新聞與傳播學院管理學系社會工作學系合辦的第二屆Data Hack 已於2023年2月17-19日在CUHK Innoport 舉行。11隊中大員生以不同學院組合,於48小時內展示他們的數碼技能,詳情可在活動網頁查看。在Data Hack 前的農曆年後亦安排了pre-hackathon 講座,主題包括資料抓取、處理、視覺化和運用等。

Immigration Detention and Vulnerable Migrants in Hong Kong Research Methodology Sharing Series (Feb-Mar 2023) “Immigration Detention and Vulnerable Migrants in Hong Kong” 研究方法分享系列 (2023年2-3月)

法律學院的一個研究團隊成功獲得了研究資助局 (RGC) 的研究影響基金 (Research Impact Fund)作一個三年的研究計劃 – “Immigration Detention and Vulnerable Migrants in Hong Kong”。 分享系列包括介紹此研究計劃的講座、兩個關於獲取官方數據的有效溝通方法及與弱勢群體作訪談技巧的工作坊。有關講座及工作坊內容請於活動網頁查看。

數據分析實踐機會 2022/23 數據分析實踐機會 2022/23 (2022年9月 – 2023年2月)

圖書館繼續鼓勵中大學生使用圖書館資源去實踐練習他們的數據分析技能。選出的隊伍於指導下利用香港中文大學數碼典藏中大圖書館檔案館藏香港中文大學研究數據儲存庫的資料完成他們的項目及代碼程式開發,並作最後簡報、製作項目網站及研究海報,以展示他們的成果。詳細資料請參看活動網頁

2022 中國古籍文字自動識別挑戰 2022 中國古籍文字自動識別挑戰 (2022年2-6月)

第二屆中國古籍文字自動識別挑戰與台灣中央研究院數位文化中心 (ASCDC) 合辦,個人或團隊可參加「公開組」或「學生組」。儘管今年的競賽資料更多樣化,隊伍成績還是很不俗。除頒獎禮外,本屆各得獎隊伍均作技術簡報。更多資料可參見競賽網頁

數據分析實踐機會 (2021/22) 數據分析實踐機會 (2021/22) (2022年1-7月)

本活動主要鼓勵中大學生利用圖書館資源包括香港中文大學數碼典藏中大圖書館檔案館藏香港中文大學研究數據儲存庫開發程式代碼作數據分析。選出的隊伍會於指導下完成他們的項目,並會作最後簡報、製作項目網站及研究海報以展示他們的成果;項目開發的代碼程式亦會於數碼學術研究工具平台公開使用。更多資訊可以在活動網頁內查看。

DASH-seminar 中央研究院「數位人文研究平台」簡介 (2021年11月30日)

「數位人文研究平台」(DASH) (https://dh.ascdc.sinica.edu.tw/member/) 由台灣中央研究院數位文化中心 (ASCDC) 開發,旨在為研究人員於雲端環境提供一個包含各種數碼人文研究工具的一站式平台,以協助他們發掘研究資料內的重要信息。

CUHK Data Hack 2021 CUHK Data Hack 2021 (2021年5月21-23日)

第一屆 CUHK Data Hack 2021 於2021年5月21-23日舉行,由圖書館數碼學術研究及進學園團隊與創業研究中心創業創新副修課程 (EPIN)文化及宗教研究系數據科學與政策研究課程新聞與傳播學院管理學系社會工作學系合辦。為讓學生作準備,”From Data Sourcing to Publishing”講座系列於整個2020/21學年舉辦,主題包括資料抓取、處理、視覺化和運用的各種不同工具和技巧。有關Data Hack 的資料可在活動網頁查看。

中國古籍文字自動識別挑戰 2021 中國古籍文字自動識別挑戰 2021 (2021年2 – 4月)

中文文字自動識別是數碼學術中的重要一環,也是對中國古籍文本分析研究的第一步。研究支援及數碼創新部於2021年初舉辦首次「中國古籍文字自動識別挑戰 2021」,希望藉此比較各家對古籍中文字自動識別方案的優異。是次競賽共有10 隊世界各地的學者、研究人員及業界人士完成賽事,有關競賽資料請參閱競賽網頁

「數位人文與中國文化研究」公開講座系列 2020 「數位人文與中國文化研究」公開講座系列 2020 (2020年1月7 & 10日)

圖書館與中國文化研究所 (ICS) 於2020年1月合辦了「數位人文與中國文化研究」公開講座系列 2020,邀請了兩位台灣中央研究院的 GIS 專家來分享他們的空間人文及歷史研究心得。
從時空GIS到空間人文學
講者: 范毅軍教授

基於歷史地理信息系統發展空間人文學及環境史研究網路基礎設施
講者: 廖泫銘先生

「數位人文與中國文化研究」公開講座系列 2020 海報 「數位人文與中國文化研究」公開講座系列 2020 - 黎志添教授 「數位人文與中國文化研究」公開講座系列 2020 - 范毅軍教授
「數位人文與中國文化研究」公開講座系列 2020 「數位人文與中國文化研究」公開講座系列 2020 - 廖泫銘先生 「數位人文與中國文化研究」公開講座系列 2020 - 廖泫銘先生
數碼學術研討會 2019 (2019年3月19日) 數碼學術研討會 2019 – 文字(再)勘探:由傳統到數位 (2019年3月19日)

香港文學研究中心合辦的第二屆數碼學術研討會於2019年3月19日舉行,主題為「文字(再)勘探:由傳統到數位」。是次一天的研討會旨在能探索新世代文本勘探的技術與應用;研究人員一直以來使用傳統微觀的方式作文本勘探,但在數碼學術及科技的不斷發展下,他們就可以用更宏觀的方法勘探文本。當日內容請參閱研討會網頁

「作者身分識別碼」活動 (2018年11月12日) 人群中脫穎而出:作者身分識別碼 (2018年11月12日)

圖書館舉辦了一系列以作者身分識別碼為主題的講座。來自中國科學院、ORCID、Clarivate Analytics 及Elsevier 的代表,分享了如何管理作者身分和在iAuthor、ORCID、Web of Science 及 Scopus 四個不同的平台上跟進研究成果的影響。在這星期,五名研究生志願者提供現場支援,協助查詢者登記不同的作者身分識別碼。

Author ID events Author ID talks Author ID talks
Author ID talks Author ID talks Author ID booth
數碼學術研討會 (2017年3月31日) 數碼學術研討會 – Exploring Digital Scholarship Research at CUHK and Beyond (2017年3月31日)

為慶祝數碼學術研究室開幕一週年,我們於2017年3月31日舉辦了第一屆數碼學術研討會,邀請了不同科目的學者分享他們的研究項目,包括數據視覺化、建立數位博物館、地理信息系統及建立開放使用的歷史數據庫。當日有超過60位參加者出席上午的研討會,而下午則舉辦了中國歷代人物傳記資料庫 (CBDB) 工作坊。當日內容請參閱研討會網頁

開放取用日 (2016年10月24日) 開放取用日 (2016年10月24日)

「開放取用日」旨在向大學成員分享將研究成果公開予大眾取用的好處。是次活動與國際開放取用週同步舉行,主題為「實行開放取用 – 「香港中文大學學術研究文庫」有助提升研究成果之影響力」,藉此介紹全新的學術研究管理系統及香港中文大學學術研究文庫,及實行開放取用的重要性。

Opening of Open Access Day (24 Oct 2016) Opening of Open Access Day (24 Oct 2016) Roundtable of Open Access Day (24 Oct 2016)
Roundtable of Open Access Day (24 Oct 2016) Open Forum of Open Access Day (24 Oct 2016) AIMS demo of Open Access Day (24 Oct 2016)

我們亦舉辦為增進研究生的研究展示技巧的活動,包括

  • 研究茶座 為中大研究生提供機會,向其他授眾展示他們的研究成果、促進跨學科研究思想交流,從而提高他們的報告技巧 Research Cafe
  • 研究院自學中心合辧的研究海報展覽通常每年舉辦予所有在讀中大研究生以海報形式向校內不同界別展示他們的研究工作,並增進他們的海報簡報技巧
    Research Poster Exhibition (2019) Research Poster Exhibition (2021) Research Poster Exhibition (2021)