Library Workshops

Workshops 圖書館講座

 

Undergraduate Workshops

All CUHK undergraduate students are welcome to attend the following library workshops. Postgraduate students are also welcome to attend if they wish. Students, in groups of ten or more, can request library courses to suit their information needs and schedules.

 

Searching Skills Series

Program 1: LibrarySearch Basics: A Search Engine for Your Assignments and Research

14 Jan 2020 (Tue) 11:30 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. Completed
Webinar Recording

Program 2: Journal Articles: How to Find the Bread-n-Butter of Academic Research

16 Jan 2020 (Thu) 11:30 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. Completed
Webinar Recording

Program 3: Finding Information about Hong Kong

19 Mar 2020 (Thu) 10:30 a.m. – 11:15 a.m.

Completed
Webinar Recording

Program 4: Chinese Databases: Searching Materials Published in Chinese

11 Mar 2020 (Wed) 10:00 a.m. – 10:45 a.m. Completed
Webinar Recording

Program 5: How to Find E-Resources @ CUHK Library

10 Mar 2020 (Tue) 10:30 a.m. – 11:15 a.m.

Completed
Webinar Recording

 

Academic Honesty Series

Demonstrating Academic Honesty in University Writing Assignments

17 Mar 2020 (Tue) 2:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. Completed

 

Assignment Season Series
Understanding and Avoiding Plagiarism - The Basics 12 Mar 2020 (Thu) 3:30 p.m. – 4:15 p.m. Completed
15 Jun 2020 (Mon) 10:30 a.m. – 11:15 a.m. Completed

 

Job Hunting & Further Studies

Electronic Resources for Job Hunting and Further Studies

19 Mar 2020 (Thu) 11:30 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.

Completed
Webinar Recording

 

Postgraduate, Researcher and Faculty Workshops

Workshops and talks on literature review, strategies for publishing in academic journals, research alert, citation management, researcher identifier creating and research impact.
 

Research Skills Workshops Series
Program 1: Sharpening Your Research Skills
Exploring Research Information in Your Field in Multi-disciplinary Databases (I): ScienceDirect, IEEE Xplore, EBSCOHost and ProQuest 9 Jan 2020 (Thu) 2:00 p.m. – 3:15 p.m. Completed
Exploring Research Information in Your Field in Multi-disciplinary Databases (II): Web of Science Core Collection, and Scopus 9 Jan 2020 (Thu) 3:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. Completed
Getting New Research Information Automatically 9 Jan 2020 (Thu) 4:45 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. Completed
Literature Review for a Successful Research Paper 10 Feb 2020 (Mon) 3:45 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. Completed
Webinar Recording
Program 2 : Managing Citations for Your Research
EndNote for Postgraduates and Researchers (Windows version) 17 Feb 2020 (Mon)
Postponed until further notice
10:30 a.m. – 12:00 noon Registration closed
26 Feb 2020 (Wed)
Postponed until further notice
2:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. Registration closed

 

Researcher Workshops
Program 1: Enhancing Your Research Impact
Author IDs - Making yourself distinguishable and discoverable on the web 17 Jan 2020 (Fri) 3:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. Completed
Webinar Recording
Using ORCID iD to Raise Your Research Profile 17 Jan 2020 (Fri) 4:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Completed
Webinar Recording
Program 2: Managing Your Research Data
Using ATLAS.ti for Qualitative Data Analysis 10 Mar 2020 (Tue) 3:00 p.m. – 4:15 p.m. Completed
Webinar Recording
13 Mar 2020 (Fri) 3:00 p.m. – 4:15 p.m.
Discovering and Reusing Research Data: Data Citation 19 Mar 2020 (Thu) 3:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. Completed
Webinar Recording
25 Mar 2020 (Wed) 3:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Introduction to Research Data Management Plan 31 Mar 2020 (Tue) 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. Completed
Webinar Recording
Effective Management of Your Research Data 31 Mar 2020 (Tue) 11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. Completed
Webinar Recording
2 Apr 2020 (Thu) 3:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.

 

Digital Scholarship and Research Data Workshops
Analysing Texts with Voyant Tools (Hands-on) 16 Jan 2020 (Thu) 3:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. Register
25 Feb 2020 (Tue)
Postponed until further notice
11:00 a.m. – 12:00 noon Register
Gephi for Network Visualisation (Hands-on) 3 Feb 2020 (Mon)
Postponed until further notice
3:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. Register
13 Mar 2020 (Wed)
Postponed until further notice
11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. Register
Basics of Data Mining with Weka (Hands-on) 11 Feb 2020 (Tue)
Postponed until further notice
10:30 a.m. – 12:00 noon Register
ArcGIS Basics for Digital Scholarship Projects (Hands-on) 13 Feb 2020 (Thu)
Postponed until further notice
3:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Register
10 Mar 2020 (Tue)
Postponed until further notice
10:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. Register
Introduction to R for Statistical Analysis 6 Mar 2020 (Fri) 2:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Cancelled

Introduction to Tableau for Visual Analytics 20 Mar 2020 (Fri)
Postponed to Summer Session
9:30 a.m. – 12:00 noon Register
Foundation of Python and Data Analysis: With Applications in Public Policy 6 Apr 2020 (Mon)
Postponed until further notice
2:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. Register
Introduction to Data Mining * NEW * 29 Apr 2020 (Wed) 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 noon Completed
Webinar Recording

 

NVivo Workshops
NVivo 12: A Tool for Data Coding and Conceptual Building 7 Feb 2020 (Fri)
*Rescheduled from 4 Dec 2019

Postponed to 2020‐21 academic year
10:30 a.m. – 12:00 noon Registration closed
Strategies to Advance Qualitative Data Analysis: from Thematic, Matrix Coding to Text Queries Through NVivo 12 Feb 2020 (Wed)
Postponed to 2020‐21 academic year
10:30 a.m. – 12:00 noon Registration closed

 

Library Workshops for Research Postgraduates: Thesis Writing Tips
Structuring a Thesis Introduction: How to Get Readers Hooked at the Beginning 13 Jan 2020 (Mon) 2:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. Completed
Writing an Abstract for Your Thesis: How to Summarize Your Research in 500 words 14 Jan 2020 (Tue) 2:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. Completed
Intensive and Profound: Chinese Thesis Writing Skills 15 Jan 2020 (Wed) 2:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. Completed

 

Library Workshops for Research Postgraduates: Winning Academic Presentation Skills
Presentation Skills for Postgraduate Students 18 Feb 2020 (Tue)
Rescheduled to
7 Apr 2020 (Tue)
2:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m Completed
Fluent and Successful: Oral Presentation Skills in Chinese 20 Feb 2020 (Thu)
Rescheduled to
9 Apr 2020 (Thu)
2:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. Completed
Poster Design and Presentation for Postgraduate Students 24 Feb 2020 (Mon)
Rescheduled to
14 Apr 2020 (Tue)
2:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. Completed

 

Research Postgraduate Workshops: Publishing Your Research
Constructing Your Research Paper Around an Argument: A Gateway to Publication 21 Apr 2020 (Tue) 2:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m Completed
Salient Features of (Publishable) Academic English 22 April 2020 (Wed) 2:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. Completed
Constructing an Abstract for a Research Paper 23 April 2020 (Thu) 2:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. Completed

 

Research Postgraduate Workshop: Oral Defence
Designing a Successful Oral Defence 24 April 2020 (Fri) 2:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m Completed

 

Improving Postgraduate Learning (IPL) Courses offered by Library
Observing Intellectual Property and Copyright Law during Research On-line course available on Blackboard
Compulsory for ALL RESEARCH postgraduate students

For details and registration: https://www.cuhk.edu.hk/clear/prodev/ipl.html
Enquiries: 
Email: clear@cuhk.edu.hk
Phone: 3943 6201

 

Request a Seminar

Course instructors and students in groups may request seminars for a particular subject area or a specific assignment at any time during the year. From the planning stage of a course or research project, Liaison Librarians with different subject backgrounds can work with you to strengthen research skills for gathering and managing scholarly information sources.

Please contact Learning Support (for undergraduate training requirements) or Research Services (for postgraduate training requirements) for details.